Archive for December, 2014

Delicious!

Ruth Reichl
deliciousDear Mr Beard,
I sent my Magic Moments off yesterday, and that made me think of you.
I hope the cookies will remind Father of our life here. Or maybe I should say what life used to be, before the war changed everything . . .
Hidden in the library of Delicious! magazine young intern Billie discovers the wartime letters of twelve-year-old Lulu Swan, written to distinguished food writer, James Beard. Lulu’s can-do spirit in the face of food shortages and other hardships help Billie come to terms with her own tragic past. Until one day it occurs to her: Lulu Swan might still be alive…

What were your initial thoughts of the book?
I saw Delicious out of the blue and got completely drawn to the cover. After scouring the synopsis, I knew that this was a book I’d be interested in reading. Thus I decided to give the book a go which I’m glad I did as this book was truly lovely and was such an entertaining read. I was drawn in from the very start and found it very hard to put the book down again. It is a book that has a truly remarkable story at its centre, one that will capture your heart and make you feel warm inside. It is one of the best food-centric books I’ve read.

What was your favourite aspect of the book?
The journey that our main protagonist, Billie, goes on. (I know, you were expecting me to say the food, weren’t you?) I loved her narration and how much she changes throughout the story. I found the writing style was easy to follow and I just got sucked in and really needed to know where Billie’s life would take her next. I really enjoyed how this all came together and how she grew into such a confident, outgoing, and resilient character by the end of it all. This was definitely a character-driven plot!

Who was your favourite character and why?
I’m sure this will come as no surprise to you but my favourite character was Billie. As much as I loved all of the other side characters and all of their own journeys, there was just something about Billie that I completely loved. She was a remarkable character who was well-written and someone who was really relatable. Essentially, this story was a coming-of-age story in which Billie finds her true self and learns to enjoy it all which just made for an entertaining read that was thoroughly enjoyable.

Would you recommend this book?
In a heartbeat. It is the kind of book that will whisk you away to another place and time easily. It is full of language that will warm your insides and mentions of food that will have you salivating. It has a story that is full of heart and warmth and is one of those books that will make you feel really good and blessed by the end of it. So if you like books like that, then you should definitely read this book. I would say it is perfect for fans of Cecelia Ahern and Jodi Picoult!

Summarize this book in one sentence (verdict): A wonderfully warm story about hope, love, food, and finding yourself.

Reviewed by Faye

Publisher: Ebury Press
Publication Date: September2014
Format: Paperback
Pages: 384
Genre: Historical, Fiction, Food
Age: Adult
Reviewer: Faye
Source: Borrowed
Challenge: None
Posted on: