Posts Tagged ‘Cristin Terrill’

Bookish Brits: Caroline’s Looking Back/Forward Post

The post also known as Caroline’s 2014 pre-orders!

posted by Caroline

Posted on:

All Our Yesterdays

Cristin Terrill
all our yesterdaysA brilliantly brain-warping thriller and a love story that leaps back and forth in time – All Our Yesterdays is an amazing first novel, perfect for fans of The Hunger Games.
Em is locked in a bare, cold cell with no comforts. Finn is in the cell next door. The Doctor is keeping them there until they tell him what he wants to know. Trouble is, what he wants to know hasn’t happened yet.
Em and Finn have a shared past, but no future unless they can find a way out. The present is torture – being kept apart, overhearing each other’s anguish as the Doctor relentlessly seeks answers. There’s no way back from here, to what they used to be, the world they used to know. Then Em finds a note in her cell which changes everything. It’s from her future self and contains some simple but very clear instructions. Em must travel back in time to avert a tragedy that’s about to unfold. Worse, she has to pursue and kill the boy she loves to change the future.

Every now and then bibliophiles like myself come across a book which inspires so much adoration that not only do they find themselves zealously recommending it to all of their friends (and strangers in book shops), but they find themselves envious of all those people who have yet to read it.

The theme of my reading experience can be summarized as torn; torn between racing thought the pages to discover the fate of this amazing cast of characters, while simultaneously feeling like I should slow down and savour every single page (with the knowledge that I would feel bereft when I came to the end of their story); torn between equally rooting for two groups of characters, from two different time periods with opposite agendas; and having finished the book and learning of the plan sequel, torn between my fear of spoiling the perfect reading experience and my desire for MORE, MORE, MORE.

And I really do mean experience. All Our Yesterdays isn’t simply a fantastic read, it is a breathtaking time twisting experience, with stomach fluttering romance, heart pounding action, breath catching tension, flawed hero’s and sinister villains.

I’ve racked my brains for a clever way of telling you more about All Our Yesterday’s without giving away any of the significant plot. But what I’ve realised is that with regards to this book, every single plot point, every twist, every character interaction was essential to my experience, and I am loathed to take anything away from yours.
Therefore I am going to leave you with the blurb above and urge you to read this fabulous novel.

Verdict: Perfection. Quite simply the best book I have read this year!

Reviewed by Caroline

Publisher: Bloomsbury Children’s
Publication Date: August 2013
Format: ARC
Pages: 384
Genre: Speculative fiction, Time travel
Age: YA
Reviewer: Caroline
Source: Provided by publisher
Challenge: Debut Author
Posted on:

All Our Yesterdays Trailer

I was absolutely blown away by All Our Yesterdays, the time travelling, dystopian novel by debut author Cristin Terrill.
If I can manage to form some coherent sentences I will post a full review in week or so.
In the meantime, I recommend that you check this trailer made by, fellow UKYA blogger, Casey (view her blog here)

Doesn’t it look amazing!

The good news for our UK followers is that We are currently giving away a copy of All Our Yesterdays in our Sci-Fi, Paranormal and Contemporary Prize pack ( click here for more details and to enter).

For everyone not luck enough to win a copy from us, All Our yesterdays will be published in the UK on the 1st of August by Bloomsbury. I have already pre ordered my own hardback copy!

Posted by Caroline

Posted on: